Skip to content

Raising Mine…

April 22, 2013

Recently, on Twitter, someone was having a rant about how ALL men are having children out of wedlock and how these men are absent from raising their children.

It then occurred to me that there are many fathers  who are very hands on and very present in the lives of their children. You see them everywhere; alighting taxis holding their daughters’ hands to school, standing by the sports field cheering a Grade 1 tee-ball match, sitting alone at Papaccino’s watching their young ones on the jungle gym.
Whilst I’m not saying they deserve a cookie for taking care of their responsibilities (after all women do this daily – often without praise) I do believe that if there’s going to be such strong disapproval of men who are absent, it would be remiss to not take time to celebrate those fathers who are present.
This blog is dedicated to those men who are handling theirs, men whose children know the scratch of their beards…
This is where I’d like us to share, confess, encourage, vent and laugh. Help me be a better dad and hopefully you too might learn a little something something you might not have known before.
So, here we go:
I’m Hlomla and I’m raising mine…

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Dumisani permalink

    Thanks that’s inspiring.

  2. Anita Ola permalink

    I think this is a very thoughful thing to do; sharing with the world and hoping to learn a few things about how to raise kids under such circumstances. I thank God for your life and few men like you who put your kids as priority in all you do. Even some kids in homes that are not broken are not as fortunate to have fathers who want to be this involved in their childrens life. Having said all that, is there any special lady at the moment in your life or its strictly you and the kids?I’m a great fan of yours from Nigeria.. Keep intouch and hi to your amazinly cute kids..

  3. Fundiswa permalink

    Ndikothulela umnqwazi bhuti wam. You and the rest of the brothers who are taking care of their responsibilities. Big ups to you all.
    Looking foward to reading more of this story and learning maybe what to teach my son to be a better man…

  4. Lerato permalink

    Nice one Hlomla and much respect to you and you are doing a great job raising you own

  5. buliebabes permalink

    Its about time dads are recognized. So often men get flack. I’m not together with my babydad but he is hands on all the way,he is with him practically every weekend. Our kids shouldn’t suffer cos the adults messed up.

  6. Marsha-Marie permalink

    I just happen to come across this and I had to respond. I really like the fact that your statement resonates BALANCE. Balance is key in life. Fathers should be raising their children whatever their relationship status. Parents should be partners in this very important process. The fathers who are raising their children should be respected just like all the mothers who are doing and having been doing it from the beginning of time. I agree you are doing what you are supposed to do but respect, encouragement and love goes a long way and for the fathers who do they deserve it just like the mothers do.

    Blessings to you and your family.

    P.S. sorry for any typos I was typing quickly and multitasking.

  7. bassie permalink

    Those kids are blessed to have you as their father.

  8. Gaasi permalink

    Much respect.

  9. Clement permalink

    Its a blessing to have a child, children are a special gift from above. I’m sincerely grateful to have such a beautiful daughter.
    Its inspiring to see her grow & understanding her in all her stages. Although I’m not present enough daily, I try my level best to be available. But all thanks to her mother, who struggle each day to beg her eat & tolerate her crumpy moods & tantrums, and a lot of compromise she does to make it easier for me to play a role. Staying with them full time could ready make a good success of raising her. To other fathers out there who try their best, Well done so far & brave up for the future ahead.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Hlomla Dandala lashes out over 'bad dad' claims | The Citizen

Leave a comment